[EAS]2001 (Ig)Nobel Prizes

pjk pjk at design.eng.yale.edu
Sat Oct 13 14:04:23 EDT 2001

Subject:   2001 (Ig)Nobel Prizes

(from The Scout Report -- Oct. 12, 2001)

The 2001 Nobel and Ig Nobel Prizes
2001 Nobel Prize Winners
2001 Ig Nobel Prize Winners

This week, the Nobel Foundation announced the winners of its six
awards for 2001, the 100th anniversary of the Nobel Prize. The
United Nations and its Secretary General Kofi Annan were awarded
the Nobel Prize for Peace. The Prize in Literature went to V.S.
Naipaul "for having united perceptive narrative and incorruptible
scrutiny in works that compel us to see the presence of suppressed
histories." Three Physics laureates were awarded, and the Nobel
prize for Chemistry went to an international team of researchers.
(The Nobel Foundation's online "e-museum" was reviewed in the
August 8, 2000 Scout Report for Social Sciences & Humanities
At the official Nobel Website, press releases for these categories,
as well as Economics and Physiology/ Medicine, can be read in
English, French, German, or Swedish, and links to the Curriculum
Vitae and publication lists of the laureates are given.

Back in the United States, another set of awards were passed out
this week: the Ig Nobels. Awarded by humor rag The Annals of
Improbable Research, the Ig Nobels honor people whose achievements
"cannot or should not be reproduced." This year's illustrious Ig
Nobel laureates include, for Medicine, the publisher of "Injuries
Due to Falling Coconuts," in the Journal of Trauma, the founder of
the Apostrophe Protection Society (Literature), and the Peace Prize
goes to the Lithuanian who built an amusement park known
colloquially as "Stalin World."

Copyright Internet Scout Project, 1994-2000. http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/ 

More information about the EAS-INFO mailing list